Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conference fees for the Privy Council Office (PCO) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2016. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conference incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government’s priorities.

The mandate of the Privy Council Office (PCO) is to serve Canada and Canadians by providing professional, non-partisan advice and support to the Prime Minister, the ministers within the Prime Minister’s portfolio and Cabinet. The Prime Minister is responsible for this organization.

PCO supports the development of the Government of Canada’s policy, legislative and government administration agendas, coordinates responses to issues facing the Government and the country, and supports the effective operation of Cabinet. PCO is led by the Clerk of the Privy Council. In addition to serving as the Deputy Head for PCO, the Clerk also acts as Secretary to the Cabinet and Head of the Public Service.

Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Privy Council Office
(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2016
Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015 Change
Travel - Public Servants $1,933 $1,843 $91
Travel - Non-Public Servants $544 $727 ($183)
Total Travel $2,477 $2,570 ($93)
Hospitality $255 $156 $99
Conference Fees $1 $0 $0
Total $2,733 $2,726 $7
International Travel by Ministers and Ministers' Staff (also included in Non-Public Servant travel) $4 $51 ($47)

Variance Analysis

  • Travel :
    • Public Servants : Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental travel expenditures for public servants increased by $91K mainly due to:
      • An increase in expenditures in the Prime Minister's Tour Support Group and in some other secretariats due to operational requirements;

    • Non-Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental travel expenditures by non-public servants decreased by $183K mainly due to a decrease in the number of domestic trips in 2015-16 for the Prime Minister’s Office and Ministers’ Offices as a result of the election period.

    • International Travel by Ministers and Ministers’ Staff: Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, international travel by Ministers and Ministers’ Staff decreased by $47K. The 2014-15 expenditures were exceptionally high and were later reimbursed (in 2015-16) by the Department of Global Affairs Canada as they were part of protocol activities during the Prime Minister’s official visits abroad.

  • Hospitality: Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, departmental hospitality expenditures increased by $99K, mainly due to the two First Ministers’ meetings held in November 2015 and March 2016.
  • Conference fees: Compared to fiscal year 2014-15, there is no variance in the conference fees expenditures.

Archives

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences

Comme l’exige la Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces données sont mises jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l’appui du mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

Le BCP a pour mandat de servir le Canada et la population canadienne en conseillant et en assistant, en toute impartialité et avec professionnalisme, le Premier ministre, les ministres du portefeuille et le Cabinet. L’organisme relève du Premier ministre.

Le BCP soutient l’élaboration des programmes stratégiques et législatifs du gouvernement, coordonne la prise de mesures en réaction aux enjeux auxquels sont confrontés le gouvernement et le pays, et contribue au bon fonctionnement du Cabinet. Le BCP est dirigé par le greffier du Conseil privé. En plus d’assumer les fonctions d’administrateur général du BCP, la greffière agit à titre de secrétaire du Cabinet et de chef de la fonction publique.

Dépenses annuelles liées aux voyages, à l’accueil et aux conférences – Bureau du Conseil privé
(en milliers de dollars)
Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015    Écart
Voyages – fonctionnaires 1 933 $ 1 843 $ 91 $
Voyages – non-fonctionnaires 544 $ 727 $ ( 183) $
Total des frais de voyages 2 477 $ 2 570 $ ( 93) $
Accueil 255 $ 156 $ 99 $
Conférences 1 $ 0 $ 0 $
Total 2 733 $ 2 726 $ 7 $
Voyages internationaux des ministres et du personnel des ministres (également inclus dans les voyages des non-fonctionnaire) 4 $ 51 $ ( 47) $

Analyse des écarts

  • Voyages :
    • Fonctionnaires : comparativement à l’exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses ministérielles liées aux déplacements engagées par des fonctionnaires ont augmenté de
      91 000$ principalement en raison de:
      • une augmentation pour le groupe Soutien des tournées du Premier ministre ainsi que dans certain autres secrétariats suite à aux besoins opérationnels.

    • Non-Fonctionnaires: comparativement à l’exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses ministérielles liées aux déplacements engagés par des non-fonctionnaires ont diminué de 183 000$ principalement suite à la baisse des déplacements au pays en 2015-2016 pour le Bureau du Premier ministre et les Cabinets de ministre en raison de la campagne électorale.

    • Voyage à l’étranger des ministres et de leur personnel: comparativement à l’exercice 2014-2015, les frais de déplacement à l’étranger des ministres et de leur personnel ont diminué de 47 000$. Les déboursés de 2014-15 étaient exceptionnellement élevées et ont étés par la suite remboursées (en 2015-16) par le ministère des Affaires mondiales Canada puisqu’elles étaient dépenses protocolaires encourues lors des voyages officiels à l’étranger du Premier ministre.

  • Accueil: comparativement à l’exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses ministérielles liées à l’accueil ont augmenté de 99 000$ principalement en raison des deux rencontres des premiers ministres qui ont eu lieu en novembre 2015 et en mars 2016.
  • Conférences : comparativement à l’exercice 2014-2015, il n’y a aucun écart concernant les dépenses liées aux conférences.

Archives