Key Speeches

Delivered by Canadian Prime Ministers on federalism, national unity and linguistic duality: 2008 to 1842

  • 2008  Stephen Harper,  Statement on the 400th Anniversary of Québec City

    « Rare are the North-American cities that can celebrate such a glorious past. 1608 is a historical date for you, for the province of Quebec and for all of Canada, because July 3rd, 1608, exactly 400 years ago today, really marks the beginning of what we have become today. »
  • 2006  Stephen Harper,  Open Federalism

    « The time has come to establish a new relationship with the provinces - a relationship that is open, honest, respectful. (.) It is about collaboration - with every level of government - and being clear about who does what and who is accountable for it. »
  • 2006  Stephen Harper,  The Québécois Form a Nation Within a United Canada

    « (…) the Québécois (…) know they have contributed to Canada’s founding, development and greatness. They know they have preserved their unique language and culture and promoted their values and interests within Canada. The question is a straightforward one: do the Québécois form a nation within a united Canada? The answer is yes. Do the Québécois form a nation independent from Canada? The answer is no, and it will always be no. »
  • 1999  Jean Chrétien,  Opening Plenary of the International Conference on Federalism

    « For the first time (.) practitioners or experts of federalism - are coming together from around the world to compare experiences and to learn from one another about federalism. (.) Over two billion people live in some sort of federal country. The large majority of people in democracies around the world live in some form of federal system. »
  • 1999  Jean Chrétien,  Ceremony Marking the Creation of Nunavut

    « (.) Canadians of the south have come to recognize the right of Northern people to take control of their destiny. As a nation, we have come to understand that our country is made up of different communities. Each with a unique identity and unique values. (.) The new Government of Nunavut will reflect this diversity; incorporating the best of Inuit traditions and a modern system of open and accountable public government. »
  • 1995  Jean Chrétien,  Address to the Nation (on the eve of the Quebec referendum on sovereignty),

    « Tonight, in particular, I want to speak to my fellow Quebecers. Because, at this moment, the future of our whole country is in their hands (.). What is at stake is our country. What is at stake is our heritage. To break up Canada or build Canada. To remain Canadian or no longer be Canadian. To stay or to leave. This is the issue of the referendum
  • 1980  Pierre-Elliott Trudeau,  Speech prior to the Québec Referendum on Sovereignty-Association

    « There are very few examples in the history of democracy of one part of a country choosing to decide (.) whether, yes or no, it wants to be part of the country to which it has always belonged (...) The answer is no to those who advocate separation rather than sharing, to those who advocate isolation rather than fellowship (.) . We won't let this country die (.). We are going to say to those who want us to stop being Canadians, we are going to say a resounding, an overwhelming no. »
  • 1968  Pierre-Elliott Trudeau,  Statement on the Introduction of the Official Languages Bill

    « The Official Languages Bill is a reflection of the nature of this country as a whole, and of a conscious choice we are making about our future (.) . We believe in two official languages and in a pluralist society not merely as a political necessity but as an enrichment. We want to live in a country in which French Canadians can choose to live among English Canadians and English Canadians can choose to live among French Canadians without abandoning their cultural heritage. »
  • 1963  Lester B. Pearson,  Speech to Association des hebdomadaires de langue française du Canada

    « Canada is rich and privileged in more ways than one, but above all because it is the repository and the beneficiary of two great cultures. (.)It is necessary to recognize, that our country is primarily formed of two peoples and that these two peoples must have equal rights and an equal opportunity in the expansion and also the direction of their economy. (.)We have already taken the actions for not only officially recognizing the French language in the Government of Canada, but even more, this is what is important, that it be used more and more commonly. We want French to be able to be used just as easily as English in all the sectors of the federal administration. »
  • 1949  Louis Saint-Laurent,  Address on the Entry of Newfoundland in the Canadian Federation

    In 1864, Newfoundland delegates attended the Quebec Conference during which discussions on the possibility of a federal union of the British North American colonies took place. But Newfoundland chose not to join the colonies of United Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick to form a new federation in 1867. More than 80 years, in 1949, the oldest British colony in North America became the tenth Canadian province.
  • 1927  William Lyon Mackenzie King,  Celebration of the Diamond Jubilee of Confederation, Parliament Hill, Ottawa, 1st July, 1927

    « In seeking to be worthy of our past, to build wisely in the present, how can we do better than to remain true to the spirit of those whom we honour to-day; not the Fathers of Confederation alone, but that long procession of discoverers and explorers. pioneers and settlers, sailors and soldiers, missionaries and traders; the men and women who have hewn their homes from the forests, who have developed our resources, fashioned our industries, extended our commerce; the moulders of thought and opinion and ideals in the realm of letters and art and government; that vast unnumbered company, long since gathered to their fathers and now resting from their labours, whose courage and daring, whose heroic purpose and steadfast endurance, whose vision and wisdom, manifested in a multitude of ways, have created a record of achievement unequalled in the romance, and unsurpassed in the pageantry of history. » [1]
  • 1878  John A. Macdonald,  On the National Policy

    «... The resolution speaks not only of a reasonable adjustment of the tariff but of the encouragement and development of interprovincial trade. That is one of the great objects we should seek to attain. Formerly, we were a number of Provinces which had very little trade with each other, and very little connection, except a common allegiance to a common Sovereign, and it is of the greatest importance that we should be allied together. I believe that, by a fair readjustment of the tariff, we can increase the various industries which we can interchange one with another, and make this union a union in interest, a union in trade, and a union in feeling. We shall then grow up rapidly a good, steady and mature trade between the Provinces, rendering us independent of foreign trade, and not, as New Brunswick and Nova Scotia formerly did, look to the United States or to England for trade, but look to Ontario and Quebec, -- sending their products west, and receiving the products of Quebec and Ontario in exchange. » [2]
  • 1877  Wilfrid Laurier,  To The French Canadians

    « We are a free and happy people; and we are so owing to the liberal institutions by which we are governed, institutions which we owe to the exertions of our forefathers and the wisdom of the mother country. [3] »
  • 1865  John A. MacDonald,  On Federalism

    Upon returning from the Charlottetown Conference, the delegates from the Province of Canada debated the proposals for a union of the British North American colonies in their legislature. These excerpts from a speech by John. A. MacDonald give an insight into the two main proposals for union and why a federal union was deemed the best option.
  • 1864  Wilfrid Laurier,  Speech, Graduation Ceremony, McGill University, Montreal

    During the graduation ceremony, Wilfrid Laurier – who had been chosen to deliver the valedictory address to his fellow law students – spoke solely in French, which had never happened before:  "(…) Two races share today the soil of Canada. I can say the following, because times have changed: the English and French populations have not always been on friendly terms, but I wish to add, and this is to our glory, racial fights no longer take place on our Canadian soil; there is here no other family than the human family, whatever the language we speak, the altar before which we kneel. Every day we rediscover the happy effects of this sacred work – and in this solemnity we again have a new proof of it; you have heard here that French names and English names have been added to honour roll, you have heard someone speak to you in English, and now I am speaking to you in my mother tongue, I am speaking to you in French.  " (Translation) [4] He continued by describing the advantages of the English and French legal systems.
  • 1842  Louis-Hyppolyte La Fontaine, On the French language rights, Parliament of United Canada.

    MP from Canada East, L.-H. La Fontaine formed coalition governments with Robert Baldwin, from Canada West. La Fontaine is well known for his contribution to the advent of responsible government. Less known, is his role in having French recognized in the Parliament of United Canada.
    • 1791-1840: use of English and French in the of legislative assembly of Lower Canada; use of English in the assembly of Upper Canada.
    • 1840: section 41 of the Union Act - which united Upper Canada and Lower Canada into United Canada - stipulated that only English was the official language in the parliament of United Canada; the French language was not prohibited in debates.
    • 1842: La Fontaine - in response to an MP criticizing him for speaking in French- made a statement reaffirming French language rights.
    • 1848: Section 41 was repealed and French recognized in the parliament of United Canada.
    Regarding the speech, the historian Lionel Groulx wrote: "It was an historic moment for us when on September 13, 1842, a son of our race stood up in Parliament in Kingston and, (…), dared to speak in French. That moment in 1842 may have determined our future. " (Translation)[5]

  1. Proceedings of the Annual Convocation of the McGill University, Montreal, Held on Tuesday, the 3rd, and Wednesday, the 4th of May, 1864, pages 38 et 39.
  2. Quoted in : Brunet, Michel, et al., Histoire du Canada par les textes, Montréal, Fides, 1956, page 170.
  3. From :  Lamonde, Yvan et Claude Corbo, Le rouge et le bleu,  PUM Montréal, 1999,  page 257.
  4. Proceedings of the Annual Convocation of the McGill University, Montreal, Held on Tuesday, the 3rd, and Wednesday, the 4th of May, 1864, pages 38 et 39.
  5. Quoted in : Brunet, Michel, et al., Histoire du Canada par les textes, Montréal, Fides, 1956, page 170.

Discours clés sur le fédéralisme, l’unité canadienne et la dualité linguistique prononcés par des Premiers ministres du Canada : 2008 - 1842

(ou 1842 à 2008)

  • 2008  Stephen Harper,  400e anniversaire de la ville de Québec

    « Rares sont les villes nord-américaines qui peuvent célébrer un tel passé. 1608 est une date historique pour vous, pour le Québec, et pour le Canada tout entier. Car c'est à partir du 3 juillet 1608, il y a exactement 400 ans aujourd’hui, que nous avons véritablement commencé à devenir ce que nous sommes aujourd'hui ».
  • 2006  Stephen Harper,  Le fédéralisme d'ouverture

    « Le temps est venu d'établir de nouvelles relations avec les provinces, des relations ouvertes, honnêtes et respectueuses. (.) Il faudra collaborer, avec tous les ordres de gouvernement, et être clairs au sujet du rôle et des responsabilités de chacun. »
  • 2006  Stephen Harper,  Les Québécois forment une nation dans un Canada uni

    « (…) les Québécois (…) savent qu’ils ont participé à la fondation du Canada, à son développement et à sa grandeur. Ils savent qu’ils ont préservé leur langue et leur culture uniques et fait avancer leurs valeurs et leurs intérêts au sein du Canada. La question est simple - est-ce que les Québécoises et les Québécois forment une nation, au sein d'un Canada uni? La réponse est oui. Est-ce que les Québécoises et les Québécois forment une nation indépendante du Canada? La réponse est non, et elle sera toujours non. (…). »
  • 1999  Jean Chrétien,  Ouverture de la Conférence internationale sur le fédéralisme

    « Pour la première fois, un forum réunit un groupe de praticiens et de spécialistes du fédéralisme (.) venus des quatre coins du monde, afin d'échanger leurs expériences et de mieux comprendre le fédéralisme. (.) À l'heure actuelle, plus de deux milliards de personnes, c'est-à-dire la grande majorité des gens vivant en démocratie, vivent dans un État de type fédéral. »
  • 1999  Jean Chrétien,  Cérémonie soulignant la création du territoire du Nunavut

    « (.), les Canadiens du Sud ont évolué vers la reconnaissance du droit des gens du Nord de contrôler leur propre destin. En tant que nation, nous avons compris que notre pays est composé de différentes communautés, chacune avec une identité et des valeurs qui lui sont uniques (.) Le nouveau gouvernement du Nunavut sera le reflet de cette diversité, car il fusionnera les meilleures traditions inuit et un système moderne et public de gouvernement transparent et responsable. »
  • 1995  Jean Chrétien,  Message à la nation (à la veille du référendum sur la souveraineté du Québec)

    « (...), je m'adresse en particulier à mes compatriotes du Québec, parce qu'ils ont en ce moment l'avenir de notre pays entre leurs mains. (.) Le Canada, notre pays et notre héritage sont en danger. Briser le Canada ou le bâtir, demeurer Canadiens ou ne plus l'être, rester ou partir, voilà l'enjeu du référendum. »
  • 1980  Pierre-Elliott Trudeau,  Discours prononcé à l'occasion du référendum québécois sur la souveraineté-association

    « Il y a très peu de cas, dans l'histoire des démocraties, où une partie de pays a choisi de décider (.) si elle voulait, oui ou non, appartenir au pays auquel elle a toujours appartenu. (. ) C'est non à ceux qui prêchent la séparation plutôt que le partage, à ceux qui prêchent l'isolement plutôt que la fraternité (.) nous ne laisserons pas mourir ce pays (.). Nous allons dire à ceux qui veulent nous faire cesser d'être Canadiens, nous allons dire immensément non. »
  • 1968  Pierre-Elliott Trudeau,  Déclaration à propos de la Loi sur les langues officielles

    « Ce bill sur les langues officielles (.) reflète la nature même de notre pays dans son ensemble et témoigne de l'option délibérée que nous faisons pour l'avenir.(.) Nous croyons en deux langues officielles et en une société pluraliste, non seulement comme une nécessité politique mais comme un enrichissement. Nous voulons vivre dans un pays où les Canadiens-français peuvent choisir de vivre parmi les Canadiens- anglais et où les Canadiens anglais peuvent choisir de vivre parmi les Canadiens-français sans renoncer à leur héritage culturel. »
  • 1963  Lester B. Pearson,  Allocution au congrès de l'Association des hebdomadaires de langue française du Canada

    « Le Canada est riche et privilégié par plus d'un côté, mais surtout parce qu'il est le dépositaire et l'héritier de deux grandes cultures.(...) Il faut reconnaître que notre pays est principalement formé de deux peuples, que ces deux peuples doivent avoir des droits égaux et une chance égale dans l'expansion et aussi dans la direction de leur économie.(.) Déjà nous avons pris les moyens pour que la langue française soit non seulement reconnue de façon officielle au gouvernement du Canada, mais encore qu' elle soit d'usage de plus en plus courant. Nous voulons que dans tous les secteurs de l'administration fédérale on puisse faire usage du français aussi bien que de l'anglais. »
  • 1949  Louis Saint-Laurent,  Entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la fédération canadienne

    En 1864, des délégués de Terre-Neuve ont assisté à la Conférence de Québec qui avait pour but de discuter d'un projet d'union fédérale des colonies de l'Amérique du Nord britannique. Mais Terre-Neuve choisit de ne pas se joindre aux colonies du Canada-Uni, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick pour former une fédération en 1867. Ce n'est que quelque 80 ans plus tard, en 1949, que la plus ancienne colonie britannique en Amérique du Nord deviendra la dixième province canadienne.
  • 1927  William Lyon Mackenzie King, Cérémonie soulignant les 50 ans du Canada, Colline du Parlement, Ottawa, le 1er juillet 1927

    « Pour nous montrer dignes de notre passé, pour bâtir avec sagesse le présent, que pouvons-nous faire de mieux que de nous conformer à l'esprit de ceux que nous honorons aujourd'hui; non seulement les pères de la Confédération, mais la longue procession des découvreurs et explorateurs, pionniers et colons, marins et soldats, missionnaires et commerçants; ces hommes et femmes qui se sont taillés un foyer à même la forêt, qui ont fait fructifier nos ressources, qui ont érigé nos industries, qui ont développé notre commerce; ces façonneurs d'idées et d'opinions et d'idéaux, dans les lettres, les arts et le gouvernement; cette multitude de gens, dis-je, qui reposent depuis maintenant longtemps auprès de leurs aïeux, et dont le courage et la bravoure, la détermination héroïque et l'endurance inébranlable, l'espérance et la sagesse, manifestes de si nombreuses manières, ont suscité une réussite sans égale, je ne dis pas dans le cours de l'histoire humaine, mais même dans la fiction des romanciers. » [Traduction libre] [1]
  • 1878  John A. Macdonald, La Politique nationale

    Le Premier ministre défend son projet de politique nationale à l’occasion d’un débat à la Chambre des communes : « Autrefois nous étions un certain nombre de provinces qui ne faisaient que très peu de commerce entre elles et qui avaient très peu de relations, sauf celle de la commune allégeance à notre souveraine, et il est de la plus grande importance que ces liens soient plus intimes. Je suis d’opinion que, si nous rajustons convenablement le tarif, nous pourrons amplifier nos transactions mutuelles, tant et si bien que ce sera dorénavant aussi par nos intérêts, notre trafic et nos sentiments que nous serons unis. Et de ce fait, le commerce entre les provinces grandira sûrement et solidement; nous ne dépendrons plus du commerce extérieur et, au lieu de compter comme autrefois sur les États-Unis et l’Angleterre, le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Nouvelle-Écosse se tourneront vers l’Ontario et le Québec, dont ils recevront les produits en échange des leurs. » [2]
  • 1877  Wilfrid Laurier,  Les Canadiens français

    « Nous sommes un peuple libre et heureux; et nous sommes libres et heureux grâce aux institutions qui nous régissent, institutions que nous devons aux efforts de nos pères et à la sagesse de la mère-patrie. » .[3]
  • 1865  John A. MacDonald,  Sur le régime fédéral

    À la suite de la Conférence de Charlottetown, le projet d’unir les colonies de l’Amérique du Nord britannique a fait l’objet de débats, notamment à l’assemblée législative de la Province du Canada. Ces extraits d’un discours de John. A. Macdonald présentent deux projets d’union et les raisons pour lesquelles il était en faveur d’une union de type fédéral.
  • 1864  Wilfrid Laurier,  Discours, Cérémonie de graduation, Université McGill, Montréal

    Lors de cette cérémonie de graduation, Wilfrid Laurier – qui avait été choisi pour prononcer le discours d’adieu devant les étudiants de la Faculté de droit – le fait en français uniquement, ce qui ne s’était jamais produit. Nous présentons ici un extrait de ce discours : « (…) Deux races se partagent aujourd’hui le sol canadien. Je puis le dire ici, car ce temps n’est plus; les races française et anglaise n’ont pas toujours été amies; mais je me hâte de le dire, et je le dis à notre gloire, les luttes de races sont finies sur notre sol canadien; il n’y a plus ici d’autres familles que la famille humaine, qu’importe la langue que l’on parle, les autels où l’on s’agenouille.  Nous retrouvons chaque jour les heureux effets de cette sainte œuvre, – et dans cette solennité nous en avons encore une nouvelle preuve; vous avez entendu ici des noms français et anglais, portés sur les tableaux d’honneur, vous avez entendu quelqu’un vous adresser la parole en anglais, et moi maintenant qui vous parle, je vous parle dans ma langue maternelle, je vous parle en français. (…) » [4] Il poursuit en présentant les avantages des traditions du droit civil et de common law au Canada-Uni.
  • 1842  Louis-Hyppolyte La Fontaine, Droits de la langue française, Parlement du Canada-Uni.

    Député du Canada-Est, L.-H. La Fontaine formera deux gouvernements de coalition avec Robert Baldwin, du Canada-Ouest. La Fontaine est bien connu pour sa contribution à l'avènement du gouvernement responsable. Moins connu, est le rôle qu'il a joué pour faire reconnaître l'usage du français au Parlement du Canada-Uni.
    • 1791-1840 : usage de l'anglais et du français à l’assemblée législative du Bas-Canada; usage de l'anglais seulement à l'assemblée du Haut-Canada.
    • 1840 : l'article 41 de l'Acte d’Union - qui unissait le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada pour former le Canada-Uni - stipulait que seul l'anglais était la langue officielle du Parlement du Canada-Uni; la langue française n'était toutefois pas interdite dans le débats.
    • 1842 : La Fontaine - en réponse à un député qui lui reprochait de parler français - fait une intervention sur les droits de la langue française.
    • 1848 : Grâce à l'appui d'autres députés, dont notamment celui de Robert  Baldwin, l'article 41 sera abrogé et l'usage du français reconnu.
    Pour l'historien Lionel Groulx, ce « ... fut pour nous une minute historique que celle où le 13 septembre 1842, un fils de notre race se leva au Parlement de Kingston et, (.), osa parler français. Cette minute de 1842 a peut-être décidé de notre avenir. » 5

  1. Tiré de : Mackenzie King, William Lyon, The message of the Carillon and other addresses, The Macmillan Company of Canada, Toronto, 1928.
  2. Canada, Parlement, Débats, Chambre de communes, 1878.
  3. Tiré de  : Lamonde, Yvan et Claude Corbo, Le rouge et le bleu, PUM Montréal, 1999,  page 257.
  4. Proceedings of the Annual Convocation of the McGill University, Montreal, Held on Tuesday, the 3rd, and Wednesday, the 4th of May, 1864, pages 38 et 39.
  5. Cité dans : Brunet, Michel, et al., Histoire du Canada par les textes, Montréal, Fides, 1956, page 170.