Federation Maps and Fact Sheets for Australia

Flag: Australia

Official name Commonwealth of Australia
Population 20,264,082 (2006 est.)
Capital Canberra

Constituent units

  • Six states: New South Wales; Queensland; Tasmania; Victoria; Western Australia; South Australia.
  • Two self-governing territories: Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory.
  • Dependent areas: Ashmore and Cartier Islands; Christmas Island; Keeling Islands; Coral Sea Islands; Heard Island; Jervis Bay; McDonald Islands; Norfolk Island. Australia also has treaty responsibility for part of Antarctica.

Constitutional distribution of powers

Legislative institutions

  • Federal: Bicameral Parliament composed of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate is composed of 76 senators, twelve from each of the six states and two from each of the mainland Territories; the senators are directly elected by the people.
  • States/territories: Five of the six states have a bicameral Parliament.
    • Websites of state and territorial legislatures, from official Websites of governments of states and territories 

Official language

  • English

Other links of interest