Federation Maps and Fact Sheets for Canada

Flag: Canada

Population 31,612,897 (2006)
Capital Ottawa

Constituent units

Constitutional distribution of powers

Legislative institutions

Official languages

The Canadian Constitution stipulates that English and French are official languages in the institutions of the Federal Parliament and Federal government and in all courts established by the Federal Parliament.

The Canadian Constitution also defines 1) the status of English and French in the legislative assemblies and legal institutions of the provinces of New Brunswick, Quebec and Manitoba, 2) the status of the English and French linguistic communities of the province of New Brunswick and 3) minority official language education rights in all provinces and territories.

Other links of interest